Lying in Wait@Liz Nugent

LYING IN WAIT

Praise for Unravelling Oliver:

‘A startlingly good debut … there’s a twist near the end that will leave the reader gasping’ Irish Examiner

‘The best opening line you’ll read all year! And you’ll keep reading’ Sinead Crowley, RTÉ Arts Correspondent

‘Incredible … don’t expect too much sleep until you finish this one!’ 5 stars, Closer

‘Has a hell of an opening line – “I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.” It’s an unexpected, arresting and compelling way to open a book and Nugent’s debut novel manages to be similarly captivating all the way through’ Sunday Business Post

‘A magnificent debut, compulsively readable … a stunning, shocking and superb novel’ Frank McGuinness, playwright

‘Fantastic … a brilliant psychological story full of suspense and devastation’ Crimebookclub

‘We read this in one sitting … satisfyingly unnerving’ Woman’s Way

‘Reminiscent of The Book of Evidence’ RTÉ Guide

‘One of those quiet books that tap away at your emotions until they crack … will appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah and Barbara Vine … an intensely gripping psychological tale that leaves you questioning whether you really know the people closest to you’ Serendiptyreviews

‘Just read a book in one sitting. Last time I managed that was twenty years ago … the book was Unravelling Oliver’ Declan Burke, crime author

‘Her writing is stylish, the characters are vivid and the line of the story all too real and plausible. Can’t recommend it highly enough’ Rick O’Shea, RTÉ

‘An absolute cracker’ Stellar

‘Liz Nugent’s dazzling debut novel, Unravelling Oliver, is, as they say – and they’re saying it quite a lot – “unputdownable” and “a page-turner” … Like a callous Tom Ripley, Oliver is a conman … Without spoiling the plot and Oliver’s twist (or twists, because after the main one there’s a further final twist in the epilogue), let’s just say that Unravelling Oliver is all about telling tales’ Mel Healy, crime author

‘I highly recommend Unravelling Oliver if you are looking for an intriguing tale that is dark and twisted … you will end up sitting up into the wee hours just to finish it (like myself)’ Totally Bookalicious

‘A fascinating and hugely enjoyable read. 9/10’ Novelicious

‘Unravelling Oliver recently won the Irish Crime Novel of the year award. It could have easily won the Literary Novel award given its prose and style’ The View from the Blue House

‘Deliciously disburbing … a truly incredible read that will stay with me for a long, long time’ Lucy Literati

‘I just couldn’t bring myself to keep this down even for a nanosecond … one of the most shockingly stunning books I have ever read. Liz’s writing is so beautiful that for a moment I thought it was all happening in front of my eyes. A great book in every sense!’ Booksminority

‘Just finished Unravelling Oliver and will be re-reading straight away. A brilliantly written, extraordinary story!’ Arthur Riordan, playwright

‘I will be thinking about this book for a long time … Liz Nugent’s writing is beautiful and captivating’ Dot Scribbles

‘One of the most beguiling and intriguing debut novels I have read in a long time’ Lisa Reads Books

‘An eye-opening read full of intrigue’ Me, My Books and I

‘A thought-provoking psychological study of human nature … loved it’ My Reading Corner

‘Full of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver is a fascinating novel that reveals layers upon layers of secrets and lies that unravel as the story progresses and keeps you engaged throughout’ Bookshelf Butterfly

‘Gripping … I didn’t want to miss a single explanation, confession or regret as the story moved on. Interesting, enthralling and certainly not a book to be missed’ Bestchicklit

‘Fantastic … I loved how the final chapter made me rethink everything. The ending complicates matters, forcing you to think about the nature of violence and whether somebody can truly be considered a monster. The plot contains more twists than a slinky, and the writing is fast-paced and carries you along gleefully, if “gleeful” is a word you can use in association with this book. You should read it. Preferably in one day’ 50ayear

‘Incredibly gripping and engrossing. This is a novel you will not be able to put down!’ Laura’s Little Book Blog

‘A kind of an Irish Mr Ripley. Gripping, thought-provoking’ Darragh McManus, Irish Independent

‘One of the more fascinating and well-plotted books I’ve read this year so far. I got completely caught up in the story and had to keep on reading’ More Than a Reading Journal

‘A shockingly brilliant debut!’ The Love of a Good Book

‘I read it in almost one sitting … what is evident is the slow manipulation of a